The Queensland Tourism Industry Council and First Nations Tourism Working Group are holding regional consultations for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander tourism operators, members of Prescribed Body Corporates and First Nations people who have an interest in shaping the future of Indigenous tourism in Queensland. 

These consultations are being held to continue the work already underway in the development of the First Nations Tourism Plan and the Plan for the Year of Indigenous Tourism. 

We would like to hear your voice on what the opportunities and challenges are for First Nations Tourism – especially in light of COVID-19 impacts - and the development of the First Nations Tourism Council for Queensland. Your input is essential to ensure the body is representative of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander tourism operators across Queensland. 

Please come along if you - 

  • Live in Queensland; 
  • Own or work for an entity that operates a tourism business in Queensland;  
  • Are responsible for business development and/or planning for a First Nations organisation that represents First Nations Traditional Owner Group;  
  • Are a member of a PBC or involved with planning or assessing tourism as a means for community economic and or cultural development 


List of consultations are below. 
Please note: These consultations may be cancelled at short notice due to COVID. Should this happen we will be in touch with further information.  

___________________________________________________________ 

Toowoomba | Tuesday 6 April 11:30AM – 4:00PM | POSTPONED

Brisbane | Wednesday 7 April 11:00AM – 3:30PM | COMPLETED

Barcaldine | Wednesday 14 April 10:00AM – 2:30PM | COMPLETED

Cairns | Monday 19 April 10:30AM – 3:00PM | COMPLETED

Mossman | Tuesday 20 April 10:00AM – 2:30PM | COMPLETED

Yarrabah | Wednesday 21 April 10:00 AM – 2:30PM | CANCELLED

Innisfail | Thursday 22 April 10:00AM – 2:30PM | Register here

Hervey Bay | Wednesday 28 April 10:00AM – 2:30PM |  Register here

Bundaberg | Tuesday 29 April 11:30AM – 4:00PM |  Register here

Mt Isa | Wednesday 5 May 10:30AM – 3:00PM| Register here

Townsville | Thursday 6 May 10:30AM – 3:00PM | Register here

Palm Island | Friday 7 May 10:00AM – 2:30PM | Register here

Proserpine | Wednesday 12 May 10:00AM – 2:30PM | Register here 

Mackay | Thursday 13 May 10:00AM – 2:30PM |  Register here

Rockhampton | Tuesday 18 May 11:00AM - 3:30PM |  Register here

Gladstone | Wednesday 19 May 10:30AM – 3:00PM | Register here

___________________________________________________________ 

 If you are unable to attend a session, or have any additional comments, please complete this survey.


Resources 

Discussion Paper